Antique reference guide


Antique sofa

Have you ever wanted a quick reference to help you answer furniture questions like: What is the style? What time period was this made in? We all usually inherit something that we would like to know the history of. In my line of work, I get asked a lot of questions about furniture history and design. It’s important for me to be able to answer simple questions, and if I don’t have an answer- I will try to find it.  Finding these answers can be confusing to the average person because some styles are blended, making it harder to distinguish the style or time period it was made.

I have searched for an online source to reference and could not find exactly what I was looking for, but I did find a pretty good reference. The link below will take you to a site that contains a comprehensive furniture history with an illustrated glossary.

Leave a Reply

