No kidding, it’s your spouse huh?


magnifying-glass

Don’t be too meticulous… nothing’s perfect

Did you know that a diamond can be considered to be perfect (without flaws) if you cannot see a flaw under 10X magnification. Every stone will show blemishes if you magnify them beyond 10X… but who walks around with that funny looking eyepiece inspecting everyone’s jewelry?
I meet tons of people each year while on the road as a field technician for furniture companies, and I suppose they all think that they may be my only customer for the day; but they don’t always stop to think about what they tell me. I have heard some stories time and time again like:

“I need my furniture fixed because I’m having a party tomorrow night.” I can tell which people actually may host a party and who would never have guests to entertain.

“I can’t wait until next week because I’ll be out of the country for 2 weeks.” Okay, Mr. world traveler.

And here’s my favorite:

“I’m embarassed to show you the issues. I know the blemishes are very small. I could live with it but my spouse is really picky.”  Believe it or not, I hear this all the time.

There’s no need to feel embarrassed about being a perfectionist. Most people who are perfectionists are just as annoyed with themselves as people are annoyed by them. But I would never judge.

It’s okay if you tell someone that you are the picky one. People who are standing over my shoulder with a magnifying glass and flashlight the entire time I’m inspecting or repairing a piece of furniture are giving themselves away. Busted. I crack up every time while they’re counting how many little pieces of blue tape they’ve stuck to mark the imperfections on every piece of furniture in their bedroom while stating, “I just want to make sure he doesn’t come home and see where you’ve fixed it. We didn’t pay for repaired furniture you know. He’s really picky.” Truth is, most men could not care less, but I have seen quite a few that were just the opposite and were beyond satisfying with anything other than new furniture.
If you are one of those people who can’t sleep at night because something you have in your living room had a small scratch that was touched up (usually in a place that could never be noticed), then you may have a problem. Nothing is perfect no matter how much money you spend. Keep two things in mind:

1- That item you’re concerned with was hit and dinged somewhere along the production line, and someone less qualified than me touched it up.
2- Sometimes my repair is the best part of your piece. Everyone is welcome to watch and ask questions while I’m working on it. I take a lot of pride in my work, so I hope every customer will appreciate the end result… if they aren’t happy with the result, then we’ll talk about whether I deserve to be paid for my effort.

I suggest that everyone leave the big magnifying glass in the drawer, or at least just deal with reality and don’t try to hide who you really are. You’ll be a lot happier.

Leave a Reply

